MyTracker is now better than ever! We’ve updated our SDK to make data collection much faster and smoother.
We’ve also introduced forcingPeriod, a new feature for obtaining user data even if your app is uninstalled immediately after the initial install or launch.
● forcingPeriod configuration parameter is added;
● the minimum supported version is changed to Android 4.0;
● some components supporting legacy Android versions are removed.
How forcingPeriod works
MyTracker accumulates events locally on a user device and sends a compressed batch to the server at regular intervals. The thinking was to reduce traffic per channel and minimise MyTracker’s impact on app performance. Now, the apps cover a huge number of events (up to hundreds per second) and send the data at regular intervals (every 15 minutes by default). If the app is closed, the data will be sent when it’s next launched.
However, user statistics are lost if the app is uninstalled before the accumulated data is sent to the MyTracker server.
SDK offers Flush and bufferingPeriod features so you can customise the data collection process to suit your needs. These help immediately send events or change data caching times:
● Flush immediately forces a dispatch of a data set;
● bufferingPeriod lets you set dispatch intervals to any time between 1 second and 24 hours.
Flush is great for when you need to get data as quickly as possible, especially right after the app is installed. However, switching caching off means higher traffic and a less user-friendly app.
The newest SDK version features forcingPeriod which represents a compromise between Flush and bufferingPeriod. This is an interval (in seconds) after the app is installed or updated. During this time, no local buffering occurs and data is sent to the server immediately, and, following that, standard buffering kicks in.
forcingPeriod helps keep hold of data on users who uninstall the app or stop using it. This means you can understand where they came from, what kind of device they used, how much time they spent on your app, and the last screen they saw before they left. After the acquaintance period comes to an end, the app switches on buffering, which is better suited for regular, day-to-day use.
For more details on how to change settings, please have a look at our SDK documentation for the following platforms: